Palacio de la Aduana Malaga
(Museum of Málaga)
The design of this huge neoclassical building was inspired by the palaces of the Italian Renaissance.
It was built at the end of the 18th century and originally served as a customs house for the port of Malaga.
Construction began in 1791, but work was halted during the occupation of Malaga by French troops during the Napoleonic war. Construction was completed in 1829.
In the 19th century the building served as a tobacco factory, as the seat of the city council, and as barracks for the Policía Nacional. In 1922, when the tobacco factory was still in operation, it was ravaged by a terrible fire killing 28 people.
Nowadays, the building is used by the Museum of Malaga which houses its Museum of Fine Arts here.
It includes an exhibition of paintings, ceramics and sculptures from the Gothic period, the Renaissance and the Baroque period. The museum also features a great deal of contemporary art, particularly paintings of the region of Malaga.